There are some very harsh penalties that are imposed if you are convicted of a DUI charge in the state of California. You are faced with significant fines and penalties that can take a bite out of your wallet, and jail time is also going to enter the equation.
These penalties can certainly take a heavy toll, but there is another penalty that is even worse for many people. When you are convicted of a DUI offense, you are going to lose your drivers license for a certain period of time. The duration of the penalty will depend upon the circumstances. Let’s look at the details.
Refusing to Take a Blood Alcohol Test
If you are pulled over because an officer suspects that you are driving under the influence, the officer is going to ask you to take a chemical test to determine your blood alcohol level. This is usually going to be a breathalyzer test, but it could also be a blood test.
You have the option of refusing to take the test to determine your blood-alcohol level. If you were to go this route, you are not preserving your driving privileges. For people who are at least 21 years of age when they are asked to take the test, the first offense will result in a one-year drivers license suspension.
If you are suspected of driving under the influence for a second time within two years of the first offense and you refuse to take the test, you are looking at a two-year revocation of your drivers license. A third offense will result in a three-year revocation.
If you do agree to take a chemical test and your blood alcohol level exceeds the legal limit, your drivers license will be suspended for four months if it is your first offense. A second offense would result in a one-year suspension if the second offense took place within 10 years of the first offense.
When your license is suspended because of a driving under the influence charge, life still goes on. You must get to work and back, and public transportation may not be an option for some.
It is possible to request a restricted license that would allow you to drive to and from work while your license is technically suspended. You can go to a California Department of Motor Vehicles field office to apply for a restricted license under these circumstances.
Legal assistance can be invaluable if you have been accused of driving under the influence in the greater San Diego area. Our firm handles DUI cases, and we can assist you if you would like to discuss your case with a licensed attorney.
Contact us through this website to schedule a consultation, or feel free to give us a call at (619) 232-5122.
Latest posts by Domenic Lombardo (see all)
- Criminal Defense Lawyer’s Club of San Diego, President’s Column: New California Criminal Defense Laws - March 19, 2018
- Proposition 64: Bountiful Harvest of Relief to Many Convicted of Marijuana Offenses - December 30, 2016
- Government Planes Harvesting Cell Phone Communications over San Diego? - May 6, 2016